Governing Body

The Department for Education Governors Handbook identifies three core strategic functions for school Governing Bodies:

  1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.

  2. Holding the Principal to account for the educational performance of the school and its students, and the performance management of staff.

  3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

At UTC Warrington, we are fortunate to have a supportive and dedicated Governing Body. Its members bring a wide range of skills, knowledge and experiences. Members of our Governing Body give freely their time to ensure the continued improvement and success of our school. Their commitment and expertise is a vital element of the college.

The Governing Body meets regularly, either as a full group or within sub-groups dedicated to particular areas of school management. Decisions are made at the sub groups and then ratified at meetings of the full Governing Body.

Board of Governors

Mr M Houghton – Wood – Chair of Governors

Mr A McManus – North West Projects 

Mr S Park – Warrington & Co

Mr J Patterson – Sellafield Ltd

Dr J McCann – Manchester Metropolitan University School of Science & Engineering

Mrs R Smith – Manchester Metropolitan University Faculty of Education

Mr N Gilligan – Vinci Facilities

Colonel P Harrison – Commander HQNW

Mrs J Thomason – Simian Risk Group

Mr I Cumming – Siemens 

UTC Warrington Trust Structure